Great Piedmont Stories :  JetPiedmont.com The fastest message board... ever.
Open Forum for Sharing Your Stories Relating to Piedmont Airlines 
Pages: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
Piedmont 727 cruising altitude
Posted by: Steve Lyons (---.chartertn.net)
Date: July 13, 2003 10:00PM

Here's a question for all of you Piedmont 727 Captains.....

On my first ever flight in my life.....Piedmont flt 59 TRI - CLT - TPA, the Captain came on the mic and said we were cruising at what sounded to me like 43,000ft. Our next VOR was Brunswick GA cause he said we were going to see Brunswick in our wondow on the left along with the Ga coastline.
Could I be remembering that wrong? Or was it common for Piedmont 727s to cruise at 43,000ft?
You see, the thing is, I have been flightsimming for four years now, logged 2,900 flightsim hours and I have not encountered anyone other than myself who commonly cruises at 43,000ft. And it doesn't appear that the real airlines go above 32,000 very often. Is that accurate?
Please shed some light on this for me, I would appreciate it.
Even better, if there is a Captain out there that flew flt 59 in your career, either when it went that route OR when they changed it to TRI - CLT - IAH around 1984.
Thanks!

Steve
Old Piedmont Ramp and C/S guy TRI / CLT

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Piedmont 727 cruising altitude
Posted by: Will Braun (---.ipt.aol.com)
Date: July 16, 2003 02:18AM

Steve, I passed my 727 FE written about 25 years ago, and really only flew the 72 for about a year, so this info is definitely from the back reaches of my memory and not verified with any manuals. But, I think that FL330 was about our maximum service ceiling, with much of a load. On hot days, it was tough to get to 330. BTW, FL320 is not available for a cruising altitude without RVSM.

HTH
Will

Posted by: Steve Lyons (---.chartertn.net)
Date: July 16, 2003 10:25PM

Thanks very much Will.